The Eye of the Acoustic Storm

Van Halen Unplugged

Each week, a different artist is spotlighted in "The Eye of The Acoustic Storm." Hourly segments of "The Eye" feature the artist's music along with bio information and sound bites.

Van Halen formed in Pasadena, California in 1978, taking their name from the last names of the band's brothers, Eddie and Alex Van Halen.

David Lee Roth was the original lead vocalist, but he left the band in 1985 and was replaced by Sammy Hagar (former lead vocatlist for Montrose).  11 years later, Hagar left Van Halen, and David Lee Roth returned, and eventually recorded some acoustic sessions with the band.